Cedom Music Collection

Cedom Music Collection

The National Library has been collecting and preserving music documents since its inception. The Centre d'études et de documentation musicales (Cedom), created in 1989, has the task of collecting, preserving and making accessible Luxembourg's musical heritage in manuscript and print. At the heart of the Cedom's musical holding are printed and manuscript scores as well as the archives of composers and communities related to the musical life and history of the country. In addition to its legal mandate, the Cedom also holds a collection of sound recordings, consisting of CDs, DVDs, vinyl records and audio tapes and cassettes and thus takes on the function of a central music archive in Luxembourg.

A specific part of the non-Luxembourgish collection is dedicated to the field of music and includes books, scores, periodicals as well as e-books, digital newspapers and databases.

Online resources

The National Library offers its readers an ever-growing number of digital documents.

Borrowing and viewing

Any media held by Cedom or in the non-Luxembourgish Music Collection can be pre-ordered online at a-z.lu and will then be available either to borrow or to view at the library.

Rare and valuable items held by Cedom (handwritten music, records and audio cassettes, composers’ archives) are not available for home loan. However, you can reserve them either via a-z.lu or by written request and then view them in our Rare Books Reading Room on the 1st floor.

Search on a-z.lu Discover the Rare Books Reading Room

Study books

The Carnets didactiques - De Litty are published by Cedom, in collaboration with the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth. They are intended for teachers and pupils in primary and secondary education, but are also available to any other interested person. The aim of the study books is to provide teachers with the information and teaching materials they need to give children and young pupils a better understanding of Luxembourg's cultural life.

The De Litty collection is the work of the teacher and musician Georges Urwald, who benefits from the logistical support of the Cedom, which enables him to draw on its rich collections. The figure of the young “Litty”, inspired by the performer and cabaret artist Pierre-Toussaint Stefani (1872-1932), created by the Luxembourg artist Andy Genen, acts as a playful leitmotif and guides the reader through the various themes studied.

Learn more

Last update

Musiksammlung des Cedom

Musiksammlung des Cedom

Seit ihren Ursprüngen sammelt und bewahrt die Nationalbibliothek Musikdokumente. Das 1989 gegründete Centre d'études et de documentation musicales (Cedom) hat die Aufgabe, das handschriftliche und gedruckte musikalische Erbe Luxemburgs zu sammeln, zu bewahren und zugänglich zu machen. Im Zentrum der Musiksammlung des Cedom stehen gedruckte und handschriftliche Partituren sowie die Archivbestände von Komponisten und Körperschaften, die mit dem Musikleben und der Musikgeschichte des Landes in Verbindung stehen. Zusätzlich zu seinem gesetzlichen Auftrag besitzt das Cedom auch eine Sammlung von Tonträgern, bestehend aus CDs, DVDs, Schallplatten, Kassetten und Tonbändern, und übernimmt damit die Funktion eines zentralen Musikarchivs in Luxemburg.

Ein spezieller Teil des nicht-luxemburgischen Bestandes ist dem Bereich Musik gewidmet und umfasst sowohl Bücher, Noten, Zeitschriften als auch E-Books, digitale Zeitungen und Datenbanken.

Digitale Ressourcen

Die Nationalbibliothek bietet ihren Lesern eine stetig wachsende Zahl digitaler Dokumente an.

Ausleihen und einsehen

Die Medien des Cedom und des nicht-luxemburgischen Musikbestands können online über a-z.lu vorbestellt werden und sind entweder zur Einsicht vor Ort oder zur Ausleihe nach Hause verfügbar.

Seltene und wertvolle Dokumente des Cedom (handgeschriebene Musikalien, Schallplatten und Audiokassetten, Musikernachlässe) sind von der Ausleihe nach Hause ausgeschlossen. Sie können jedoch über a-z.lu oder auf schriftliche Anfrage reserviert und im Rara-Lesesaal Dr. Jean- Claude Loutsch im 1. Stock eingesehen werden.

In a-z.lu suchen Den Rara-Lesesaal entdecken

Lernbücher

Die Carnets didactiques - De Litty werden vom Cedom in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Ministerium für Bildung, Kinder und Jugend herausgegeben. Sie richten sich an Lehrer und Schüler der Grund- und Sekundarschule, stehen aber auch allen anderen interessierten Personen zur Verfügung. Die Lernbücher sollen Lehrern die notwendigen Informationen und Unterrichtsmaterialien an die Hand geben, um Kindern und jungen Schülern das kulturelle Leben Luxemburgs näher zu bringen.

Die Sammlung De Litty ist das Werk des Lehrers und Musikers Georges Urwald, der von den reichen Sammlungen des Cedom profitiert. Die Figur des jungen „Litty“, inspiriert von dem Interpreten und Kabarettisten Pierre-Toussaint Stefani (1872-1932), der von dem luxemburgischen Künstler Andy Genen geschaffen wurde, fungiert als spielerisches Leitmotiv und führt den Leser durch die verschiedenen untersuchten Themen.

Mehr erfahren

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am