Reading Room

Reading Room

The Reading Room forms the centrepiece of the library. Across its three floors you will find 200,000 documents covering the main fields of knowledge. You can remove these documents from the shelves yourself, view them and borrow them.

Only a fraction of the BnL’s collections can be viewed in the Reading Room. The remaining documents are in the closed stacks or are available as online publications.

Floor plan

The Reading Room offers different ways of using its resources, from comfortable armchairs to desks with computers. Over the three floors there are also eleven carrels (group study rooms), three soundproof booths and a Music Room, as well as a Media Centre and a Rare Books Reading Room.

Information desks and soundproofed telephone booths are available in the Reading Room. The loans desk is located at the entrance. On the third floor there are toilets and a water fountain. All public areas are equipped with lifts, adapted sanitary facilities and ramps.

Good manners in the Reading Room

The National Library is the ideal place to work and study quietly. Let us be respectful of each other and limit the noise we make.

As the National Library is an archive library, it is important to protect its holdings. For this reason, bags, coats and bulky items are not allowed in the Reading Room. Free lockers are available in the foyer.

The consumption of food and drink (including water) is also prohibited in the Reading Room. You may ask why? Accidents happen and can cause irreparable damage to a document. Like most national libraries in other countries, we have decided to avoid this risk once and for all.

Subject classification

The Reading Room is arranged according to the DEWEY Decimal Classification (DDC), which is used by many libraries around the world today. It subdivides all knowledge into ten main classes, represented by numbers.

000 Computer science and book science

In sector 000 on the 3rd floor, you will find books on the following disciplines: computer science, information science, media, library science and general encyclopaedias.

100 Philosophy

Sector 100 on the 3rd floor contains works on philosophy from antiquity to the present day. Here you will find, among other things, metaphysics, logic and ethics. It should be noted that psychology is also included in Dewey class 100. On the other hand, psychiatry, which is related to the field of medicine, is referenced in sector 600.

200 Religion

In sector 200 on the 3rd floor, you will find books on religions, textbooks on the theory and history of religion.

300 Social sciences

On the 3rd floor, social sciences are listed according to the different disciplines such as sociology and anthropology, political science, statistics, economics and law. Pedagogy is also part of this section.

400 Language

Sector 400 is located on the 3rd floor. It contains books and journals on languages and linguistics.

500 Science

On the 3rd floor, the sciences are listed according to different disciplines such as mathematics, astronomy, physics, chemistry, earth sciences, biology and zoology. It should be noted that works on psychiatry, surgery or pathology are to be found in the 600 Technology sector.

600 Technology

Sector 600 on the 3rd floor refers to applied sciences. It includes medicine, engineering, agriculture, management, chemical engineering including metallurgy and biotechnology, construction and also home economics with culinary arts as a sub-category.

700 Arts and recreation

This sector is located on the 2nd floor and contains documentation on painting, music, performing arts, photography, graphic and decorative arts as well as architecture and urban planning. On the ground floor, you will also find documents from the Dewey class 700 Sports and Leisure.

800 Literature

This area is located on the 3rd floor next to section 400 Language. It contains, among others, works of English, French, Luxembourgish and German literature.

900 History and geography

This area is located on the 3rd floor. The geography area is referenced by continents and then by countries, including Luxembourg in category 914.9. In the history sector, you will find genealogy and general biographies, history of the ancient world and history from the Middle Ages to the present day.

Books on the history of Luxembourg can be found in category 949.

Last update

Lesesaal

Lesesaal

Der Lesesaal bildet das Herzstück der Bibliothek. Auf drei Stockwerken verteilt finden Sie 200 000 Dokumente aus allen Wissensbereichen, die Ihnen im Freihandbereich zu Verfügung stehen, so dass Sie diese selbst aus den Regalen herausnehmen, einsehen und ausleihen können.

Im Lesesaal ist nur ein Bruchteil des Angebots der BnL einsehbar. Weitere Dokumente befinden sich in den Magazinen (Archivräumen) oder sind online zugänglich.

Übersicht der Stockwerke

Der Lesesaal bietet vom Sessel bis zum Arbeitstisch mit Computer unterschiedliche Nutzungsweisen. Zusätzlich befinden sich auf drei Stockwerken verteilt elf Carrels (Gruppenräume), drei Audiokabinen und ein Musikraum sowie eine Mediathek und ein Rara-Lesesaal.

Im Lesesaal stehen Ihnen Informationsschalter und schallisolierte Telefonkabinen zur Verfügung. Der Ausleihschalter befindet sich am Eingang. Im dritten Stock finden Sie Toiletten und einen Wasserspender. Alle öffentlichen Bereiche sind mit Aufzügen, behindertengerechten Sanitäranlagen und Rampen ausgestattet.

Gute Umgangsformen im Lesesaal

Die Nationalbibliothek ist der ideale Ort, um in Ruhe zu arbeiten und zu lernen. Lasst uns respektvoll miteinander umgehen und Lärm auf ein Minimum reduzieren.

Da die Nationalbibliothek eine Archivbibliothek ist, ist es wichtig, ihre Bestände zu schützen. Aus diesem Grund sind Taschen und Mäntel sowie sperrige Gegenstände im Lesesaal nicht erlaubt. Im Eingangsbereich stehen Ihnen kostenlose Schließfächer zur Verfügung.

Der Verzehr von Speisen und Getränken (einschließlich Wasser) ist im Lesesaal ebenfalls nicht gestattet. Sie fragen sich, warum das so ist? Ein Unfall ist schnell passiert und kann ein Dokument irreparabel beschädigen. Wie die meisten Nationalbibliotheken in anderen Ländern haben auch wir beschlossen, dieses Risiko ein für alle Mal zu vermeiden.

Thematische Sortierung

Der Lesesaal ist nach der DEWEY-Dezimalklassifikation (CDD) eingerichtet, die heute von vielen Bibliotheken auf der ganzen Welt verwendet wird. Sie unterteilt das gesamte Wissen in zehn Hauptklassen, die durch Zahlen dargestellt werden.

000 Informatik und Buchwissenschaften

Im Bereich 000 im 3. Stock finden Sie Bücher zu folgenden Disziplinen: Informatik, Informationswissenschaften, Medien, Bibliothekswesen sowie allgemeine Enzyklopädien.

100 Philosophie

Der Bereich 100 im 3. Stock umfasst Werke der Philosophie von der Antike bis zur Gegenwart. Hier finden Sie unter anderem die Metaphysik, die Logik sowie die Ethik. Es ist zu beachten, dass die Psychologie ebenfalls zur Dewey-Klasse 100 gehört. Die Psychiatrie, die mit dem Bereich der Medizin verbunden ist, wird hingegen in Bereich 600 referenziert.

200 Religionen

In Bereich 200 im 3. Stock finden Sie Bücher über Religionen, Lehrbücher zur Religionstheorie und -geschichte.

300 Sozialwissenschaften

Im 3. Stock sind die Sozialwissenschaften nach verschiedenen Disziplinen wie Soziologie und Anthropologie, Politikwissenschaft, Statistik, Wirtschaftswissenschaften oder Recht referenziert. Auch die Pädagogik ist Teil dieser Abteilung.

400 Sprache

Der Bereich 400 befindet sich im 3. Stock. Hier finden Sie Bücher und Zeitschriften zu Sprachen und Linguistik.

500 Naturwissenschaften

Im 3. Bereich sind die Wissenschaften nach verschiedenen Disziplinen wie Mathematik, Astronomie, Physik, Chemie, Geowissenschaften oder auch Biologie und Zoologie aufgeführt. Es ist anzumerken, dass sich Werke über Psychiatrie, Chirurgie oder Pathologie im Bereich 600 (Technik).

600 Technik

Der Bereich 600 im 3. Stock bezieht sich auf die angewandten Wissenschaften. Er umfasst Medizin, Ingenieurwesen, Landwirtschaft, Management, Chemieingenieurwesen einschließlich Metallurgie und Biotechnologie, Bauwesen und auch Hauswirtschaft mit der Unterkategorie Kochkunst.

700 Künste

Dieser Bereich befindet sich im 2. Stock und umfasst Literatur über Malerei, Musik, darstellende Künste, Fotografie, Grafik und dekorative Künste sowie Architektur und Stadtplanung. Im Erdgeschoss finden Sie auch Dokumente der Dewey-Klasse 700 Sport und Freizeit.

800 Literatur

Dieser Bereich befindet sich im 3. Stock neben der Abteilung 400 Sprachen. Hier findet man unter anderem Werke der englischen, französischen, luxemburgischen und deutschen Literatur.

900 Geschichte und Geografie

Dieser Bereich befindet sich im 3. Stock. Der Bereich Geografie ist nach Kontinenten und dann nach Ländern referenziert, darunter Luxemburg in Kategorie 914.9. Im Bereich Geschichte finden Sie Genealogie und allgemeine Biografien, die Geschichte der antiken Welt und die Geschichte vom Mittelalter bis zur Gegenwart.

Bücher zur Geschichte Luxemburgs finden Sie in Kategorie 949.

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am