Acquisitions and donations

Acquisitions and donations

In addition to its mission as a heritage library, the BnL also has an encyclopaedic vocation: three quarters of its printed resources come from abroad and cover various fields of knowledge. Acquisitions are carefully evaluated by our subject specialists. If you wish to support the BnL, you can donate documents or make a financial contribution through the National Cultural Fund.

Acquisitions

The acquisition policy is explained in a charter.

Acquisition Policy

Documents in the Non-Luxembourgish Collection are selected by our subject specialists. They research documents and include them in the collection in accordance with the relevant acquisition criteria of the Non-Luxembourgish Collection.

Download the acquisition policy (Pdf, 251 Kb)

Acquisition Proposal

If you cannot find a document in our collections, you can submit an acquisition proposal via a-z.lu. The relevant experts at the library will consider your request in the light of the current acquisition policy and will order the document for you or recommend an interlibrary loan.

Submit an acquisition proposal

Donations

If you are interested in supporting the National Library, you could donate documents. The Luxembourgish Collection is a subject of particular interest. The National Library reserves the right to handle donations in accordance with its acquisition policy; that is to say, that some documents are subject to current cassation principles.

Any donation or request accepted is subsequently checked. Discarded publications are either rejected or redirected to related institutions or other Luxembourgish libraries, which better meet the criteria of the proposed documents.

To make a donation proposal, please first fill in the form opposite. A member of staff will then process your proposal and contact you shortly. Any donation or bequest accepted is subsequently checked in the union catalogue. 

What are we interested in for the Luxembourgish Collection and the Special Collections?

The BnL accepts Luxembourgish or foreign publications relating to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg or the Old Duchy for its historical and contemporary collections, provided that they are not already in the Luxembourgish collections, or in order to complete these collections: books, pamphlets, out-of-print or rare periodicals, manuscripts, typescripts, illustrated and textual posters, calendars, old illustrated postcards, geographical maps, printed and handwritten scores, archives of composers and music communities, sound recordings, iconographic documents and old commercial prints.

What are we interested in for the Non-Luxembourgish Collection?

The BnL accepts books and periodicals that meet the criteria of its scientific missions. Therefore, it refuses publications for children and teenagers, help guides, outdated or deteriorated books and titles that are already available at the BnL. For the non-Luxembourgish collection, donations are only accepted if they are free of charge.

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are mandatory.

Media*
Holds publications in relation to Luxembourg*
No file chosen

Patronage

If you are interested in supporting the National Library with specific projects such as the restoration of posters from Luxembourg, you can
make a tax-deductible donation via the National Cultural Fund. At the end of 2016, the BnL began gradually digitising its collection of Luxembourg posters and publishing them online. Unfortunately, many posters are in bad condition due to damage or wear and tear and they need restoring before they can be digitised and made accessible to the public. You can help to support this project by making a donation.

Make a donation

Last update

Akquisitionen und Schenkungen

Akquisitionen und Schenkungen

Die Auswahl der Dokumente des nicht-luxemburgischen Bestandes wird von Fachreferenten der jeweiligen Fachgebiete getroffen. Als Wissenschafts- und Forschungsbibliothek hat sie den Anspruch einer Fachbibliothek: Etwa drei Viertel ihres Druckbestands stammen aus dem Ausland und decken zahlreiche Wissensgebiete ab. Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, die Nationalbibliothek zu unterstützen, können Sie etwa Dokumente schenken. Sie haben auch die Möglichkeit, steuerlich absetzbare Spenden über den Fonds culturel national zu tätigen.

 

Akquisitionen

Die Akquisitionspolitik ist in einer Charta erläutert.

Charta der Akquisitionspolitik

Die Auswahl der Dokumente des nicht-luxemburgischen Bestandes wird von Fachreferenten der jeweiligen Fachgebiete getroffen. Diese erwerben Dokumente aus ihrem Fachbereich und nehmen sie gemäß den Kriterien der Erwerbspolitik der BnL auf.

Die Charta der Akquisitionspolitik herunterladen (Pdf, 251 KB)

Erwerbungsvorschläge

Falls Sie ein Dokument in unseren Sammlungen nicht finden, können Sie über a-z.lu einen Erwerbungsvorschlag einreichen. Unsere zuständigen Fachreferenten überprüfen Ihren Wunsch im Hinblick auf die bestehende Erwerbspolitik und bestellen ihn für Sie oder empfehlen eine Fernleihe.

Einen Erwerbungsvorschlag machen

Schenkungen

Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, die Nationalbibliothek zu unterstützen, können Sie etwa Dokumente schenken. Besonderes Interesse gilt der Luxemburgensia-Sammlung. Die Nationalbibliothek hält sich vor, Schenkungen gemäß der Akquisitionspolitik zu behandeln; das bedeutet, dass einzelne Dokumente auch gängigen Kassationsprinzipien unterliegen.

Jede Schenkung wird überprüft. Nicht berücksichtigte Publikationen werden entweder aussortiert oder an verwandte Institutionen oder andere luxemburgische Bibliotheken weitergeleitet, die die Kriterien der angebotenen Dokumente besser erfüllen.

Um einen Spendenvorschlag zu machen, füllen Sie bitte zunächst das nebenstehende Formular aus. Ein Mitarbeiter wird Ihren Vorschlag dann bearbeiten und sich in Kürze mit Ihnen in Verbindung setzen.

Welche Dokumente interessieren uns für den luxemburgischen Bestand und für die Spezialsammlungen?

Die BnL nimmt für ihre historischen und zeitgenössischen Sammlungen luxemburgische oder ausländische Publikationen mit Bezug zum Großherzogtum Luxemburg oder zum ehemaligen Herzogtum an, sofern sie sich noch nicht in den luxemburgischen Sammlungen befinden, oder um diese Sammlungen zu ergänzen: Bücher, Broschüren, vergriffene oder seltene Zeitschriften, Handschriften, Typoskripte, illustrierte und Textplakate, Kalender, alte illustrierte Postkarten, Landkarten, gedruckte und handschriftliche Partituren, Archivbestände von Komponisten und Musikgemeinschaften, Tonaufnahmen, ikonografische Dokumente und alte Handelsdrucke.

Welche Dokumente interessieren uns für den nicht-luxemburgischen Bestand?

Die BnL nimmt Bücher und Zeitschriften an, die den Kriterien ihrer wissenschaftlichen Aufgaben entsprechen. Daher lehnt sie Publikationen für Kinder und Jugendliche, Ratgeber, beschädigte Bücher oder Bücher mit veraltetem Inhalt sowie Titel, die bereits bei der BnL vorhanden sind, von vornherein ab. Für den nicht-luxemburgischen Bestand werden Schenkungen nur unter der Bedingung akzeptiert, dass sie der BnL kostenlos zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

Mit Stern gekennzeichnete Felder (*) sind Pflichtfelder.

Dokumententyp*
Enthält Publikationen mit Bezug zu Luxemburg*
Keine Datei ausgewählt

Mäzenatentum

Wenn Sie daran interessiert sind, die Nationalbibliothek bei spezifischen Projekten, wie etwa der Restaurierung von luxemburgischen Plakaten, zu unterstützen, haben Sie die Möglichkeit, steuerlich absetzbare Spenden über den Fonds culturel national zu tätigen. Ende 2016 begann die BnL mit der schrittweisen Digitalisierung und Online-Veröffentlichung ihrer Sammlung luxemburgischer Plakate. Leider befinden sich viele Plakate durch Beschädigung und Abnutzung in einem kritischen Zustand und müssen restauriert werden, um sie zu digitalisieren und der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich zu machen. Mit einer Spende könnten Sie die Umsetzung dieses Projektes unterstützen.

Eine Spende tätigen

Zum letzten Mal aktualisiert am