Acquisitions and donations

Acquisitions and donations

In addition to its mission as a heritage library, the BnL also has an encyclopaedic vocation: three quarters of its printed resources come from abroad and cover various fields of knowledge. Acquisitions are carefully evaluated by our subject specialists. If you wish to support the BnL, you can donate documents or make a financial contribution through the National Cultural Fund.

Acquisitions

The acquisition policy is explained in a charter.

Acquisition Policy

Documents in the Non-Luxembourgish Collection are selected by our subject specialists. They research documents and include them in the collection in accordance with the relevant acquisition criteria of the Non-Luxembourgish Collection.

Download the acquisition policy (Pdf, 251 Kb)

Acquisition Proposal

If you cannot find a document in our collections, you can submit an acquisition proposal via a-z.lu. The relevant experts at the library will consider your request in the light of the current acquisition policy and will order the document for you or recommend an interlibrary loan.

Submit an acquisition proposal

Donations

If you are interested in supporting the National Library, you could donate documents. The Luxembourgish Collection is a subject of particular interest. The National Library reserves the right to handle donations in accordance with its acquisition policy; that is to say, that some documents are subject to current cassation principles.

Any donation or request accepted is subsequently checked. Discarded publications are either rejected or redirected to related institutions or other Luxembourgish libraries, which better meet the criteria of the proposed documents.

To make a donation proposal, please first fill in the form opposite. A member of staff will then process your proposal and contact you shortly. Any donation or bequest accepted is subsequently checked in the union catalogue. 

What are we interested in for the Luxembourgish Collection and the Special Collections?

The BnL accepts Luxembourgish or foreign publications relating to the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg or the Old Duchy for its historical and contemporary collections, provided that they are not already in the Luxembourgish collections, or in order to complete these collections: books, pamphlets, out-of-print or rare periodicals, manuscripts, typescripts, illustrated and textual posters, calendars, old illustrated postcards, geographical maps, printed and handwritten scores, archives of composers and music communities, sound recordings, iconographic documents and old commercial prints.

What are we interested in for the Non-Luxembourgish Collection?

The BnL accepts books and periodicals that meet the criteria of its scientific missions. Therefore, it refuses publications for children and teenagers, help guides, outdated or deteriorated books and titles that are already available at the BnL. For the non-Luxembourgish collection, donations are only accepted if they are free of charge.

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are mandatory.

Media*
Holds publications in relation to Luxembourg*
No file chosen

Patronage

If you are interested in supporting the National Library with specific projects such as the restoration of posters from Luxembourg, you can
make a tax-deductible donation via the National Cultural Fund. At the end of 2016, the BnL began gradually digitising its collection of Luxembourg posters and publishing them online. Unfortunately, many posters are in bad condition due to damage or wear and tear and they need restoring before they can be digitised and made accessible to the public. You can help to support this project by making a donation.

Make a donation

Last update

Acquisitions et dons

Acquisitions et dons

Outre sa mission de bibliothèque patrimoniale, la BnL a également une vocation encyclopédique : trois quarts de ses ressources imprimées proviennent de l’étranger et couvrent différents domaines du savoir. Les acquisitions sont soigneusement évaluées par des chargés de collections et du traitement documentaire. Si vous souhaitez soutenir la BnL, vous avez la possibilité de proposer un don de documents ou de faire un don financier par le biais du Fonds culturel national. 

Acquisitions

La politique d’acquisition de la Bibliothèque nationale est guidée par une charte des acquisitions.

Charte des acquisitions

La sélection des documents du Fonds non luxembourgeois est effectuée par les chargés de collections dans leurs domaines scientifiques respectifs. Ils recherchent et décident quels documents acquérir selon les critères de la politique d’acquisition du Fonds non luxembourgeois.

Télécharger la charte des acquisitions (Pdf, 251 Ko)

Propositions d'acquisition

Si vous ne trouvez pas un document dans nos collections, vous pouvez soumettre une proposition d’acquisition via a-z.lu. Nos chargés de collections vérifieront votre demande au regard de la politique d’acquisition existante et la commanderont pour vous ou recommanderont un prêt entre bibliothèques.

Faire une proposition d'acquisition

Dons de documents

Si vous souhaitez soutenir la Bibliothèque nationale, vous pouvez faire don de documents. Un intérêt particulier est donné aux documents en rapport avec le Luxembourg. La Bibliothèque nationale se réserve le droit de traiter les dons conformément à la politique d’acquisition, ce qui signifie que certaines ressources peuvent être soumises aux principes communs de cassation.

Tout don ou legs accepté fait, par la suite, l’objet de vérifications. Les publications écartées sont soit élaguées, soit réorientées vers des institutions connexes ou d’autres bibliothèques luxembourgeoises, qui répondront davantage aux critère des documents proposés.

Pour faire une proposition de don, veuillez tout d'abord remplir le formulaire ci-contre. Un collaborateur traitera ensuite votre proposition et vous contactera sous peu.

Qu’est-ce qui nous intéresse pour le Fonds luxembourgeois et les Fonds spéciaux ?

La BnL accepte les publications luxembourgeoises, ou étrangères ayant trait au Grand-Duché de Luxembourg ou à l’Ancien Duché, pour ses collections historiques et contemporaines, sous condition qu’elles ne se trouvent pas encore dans les collections luxembourgeoises, ou afin de compléter ces collections : livres, brochures, périodiques épuisés ou rares, manuscrits, tapuscrits, affiches illustrées et textuelles, calendriers, cartes postales illustrées anciennes, cartes géographiques, partitions imprimées et manuscrites, fonds d’archives de compositeurs et de collectivités musicales, enregistrements sonores, documents iconographiques et imprimés commerciaux anciens. 

Qu’est-ce qui nous intéresse pour le Fonds non luxembourgeois ?

La BnL accepte les livres et périodiques, qui répondent aux critères de ses missions scientifiques. De ce fait, elle refuse d’emblée les publications pour enfants et adolescents, les guides d’assistance, les livres dégradés ou au contenu obsolète et les titres déjà disponibles auprès de la BnL. Pour le fonds non luxembourgeois, les dons et legs sont uniquement acceptés sous condition qu’ils soient mis gracieusement à la disposition de la BnL.

Les champs marqués d’une étoile (*) sont obligatoires.

Support(s)*
Contient des publications en rapport avec le Luxembourg*
Aucun fichier choisi

Mécénat

Si vous souhaitez soutenir la Bibliothèque nationale dans des projets spécifiques, tels que la restauration d'affiches luxembourgeoises, vous avez la possibilité de faire des dons déductibles fiscalement par le biais du Fonds culturel national. Fin 2016, la BnL a entamé la numérisation progressive et la mise en ligne de sa collection d’affiches luxembourgeoises. Malheureusement, de nombreuses affiches sont usées et dans un état critique. Elles doivent être restaurées afin que la BnL puisse les numériser et les mettre en ligne. En faisant un don, vous pouvez soutenir la mise en oeuvre de ce projet.

Faire un don

Dernière modification le