Cedom Music Collection

Cedom Music Collection

The National Library has been collecting and preserving music documents since its inception. The Centre d'études et de documentation musicales (Cedom), created in 1989, has the task of collecting, preserving and making accessible Luxembourg's musical heritage in manuscript and print. At the heart of the Cedom's musical holding are printed and manuscript scores as well as the archives of composers and communities related to the musical life and history of the country. In addition to its legal mandate, the Cedom also holds a collection of sound recordings, consisting of CDs, DVDs, vinyl records and audio tapes and cassettes and thus takes on the function of a central music archive in Luxembourg.

A specific part of the non-Luxembourgish collection is dedicated to the field of music and includes books, scores, periodicals as well as e-books, digital newspapers and databases.

Online resources

The National Library offers its readers an ever-growing number of digital documents.

Borrowing and viewing

Any media held by Cedom or in the non-Luxembourgish Music Collection can be pre-ordered online at a-z.lu and will then be available either to borrow or to view at the library.

Rare and valuable items held by Cedom (handwritten music, records and audio cassettes, composers’ archives) are not available for home loan. However, you can reserve them either via a-z.lu or by written request and then view them in our Rare Books Reading Room on the 1st floor.

Search on a-z.lu Discover the Rare Books Reading Room

Study books

The Carnets didactiques - De Litty are published by Cedom, in collaboration with the Ministry of Education, Children and Youth. They are intended for teachers and pupils in primary and secondary education, but are also available to any other interested person. The aim of the study books is to provide teachers with the information and teaching materials they need to give children and young pupils a better understanding of Luxembourg's cultural life.

The De Litty collection is the work of the teacher and musician Georges Urwald, who benefits from the logistical support of the Cedom, which enables him to draw on its rich collections. The figure of the young “Litty”, inspired by the performer and cabaret artist Pierre-Toussaint Stefani (1872-1932), created by the Luxembourg artist Andy Genen, acts as a playful leitmotif and guides the reader through the various themes studied.

Learn more

Last update

Fonds musical du Cedom

Fonds musical du Cedom

Depuis ses origines, la Bibliothèque nationale collecte et conserve des documents musicaux. Le Centre d’études et de documentation musicales (Cedom), créé en 1989 a pour mission de collecter, préserver et rendre accessible le patrimoine musical luxembourgeois manuscrit et imprimé. Au cœur du fonds musical du Cedom se trouvent des partitions imprimées et des partitions manuscrites ainsi que les fonds d’archives de compositeurs et de collectivités en relation avec la vie et l’histoire musicale du pays. En supplément de son mandat légal, le Cedom possède également une collection d’enregistrements sonores, constituée de CD, de DVD, de disques vinyles et de bandes et cassettes sonores et prend ainsi la fonction d’archive musical central au Luxembourg.

Une partie spécifique du fonds non luxembourgeois est consacrée au domaine de la musique et compte à la fois des livres, partitions, périodiques ainsi que des e-books, journaux numériques et bases de données.

Ressources en ligne

La Bibliothèque nationale vous propose un nombre toujours croissant de documents numériques.

Prêt et Consultation

Les documents du Cedom et ceux du fonds musical non luxembourgeois peuvent être recherchés et commandés en ligne via a-z.lu et sont accessibles soit pour le prêt, soit pour la consultation sur place.  

Les documents rares et précieux du Cedom (partitions manuscrites, disques et cassettes sonores, archives de compositeurs) sont consultables sur place en salle de consultation spécialisée Dr Jean-Claude Loutsch. Un collaborateur sera présent pour vous épauler dans vos démarches et vous guider dans la manipulation adéquate des documents précieux.

Rechercher sur a-z.lu Découvrir la salle de consultation spécialisée

Carnets didactiques

Les Carnets didactiques – De Litty sont publiés par le Cedom, en collaboration avec le ministère de l’Éducation nationale, de l’Enfance et de la Jeunesse. Ils s’adressent aux enseignants et aux élèves de l’enseignement fondamental et secondaire, mais sont aussi à la disposition de toute autre personne intéressée. Les Carnets didactiques visent à donner aux enseignants les informations et le matériel pédagogique nécessaire pour mieux faire connaître aux enfants et jeunes élèves la vie culturelle du Luxembourg.

La collection De Litty est l’œuvre du professeur et musicien Georges Urwald qui bénéficie du soutien logistique du Cedom qui lui permet de puiser dans ses riches collections. La figure du jeune « Litty », inspirée de l’interprète et artiste de cabaret Pierre-Toussaint Stefani (1872-1932), créée par l’artiste luxembourgeois Andy Genen, fait fonction de leitmotiv ludique et guide le lecteur à travers les différents thèmes étudiés.

Découvrir les carnets

Dernière modification le