Reading Room

Reading Room

The Reading Room forms the centrepiece of the library. Across its three floors you will find 200,000 documents covering the main fields of knowledge. You can remove these documents from the shelves yourself, view them and borrow them.

Only a fraction of the BnL’s collections can be viewed in the Reading Room. The remaining documents are in the closed stacks or are available as online publications.

Floor plan

The Reading Room offers different ways of using its resources, from comfortable armchairs to desks with computers. Over the three floors there are also eleven carrels (group study rooms), three soundproof booths and a Music Room, as well as a Media Centre and a Rare Books Reading Room.

Information desks and soundproofed telephone booths are available in the Reading Room. The loans desk is located at the entrance. On the third floor there are toilets and a water fountain. All public areas are equipped with lifts, adapted sanitary facilities and ramps.

Good manners in the Reading Room

The National Library is the ideal place to work and study quietly. Let us be respectful of each other and limit the noise we make.

As the National Library is an archive library, it is important to protect its holdings. For this reason, bags, coats and bulky items are not allowed in the Reading Room. Free lockers are available in the foyer.

The consumption of food and drink (including water) is also prohibited in the Reading Room. You may ask why? Accidents happen and can cause irreparable damage to a document. Like most national libraries in other countries, we have decided to avoid this risk once and for all.

Subject classification

The Reading Room is arranged according to the DEWEY Decimal Classification (DDC), which is used by many libraries around the world today. It subdivides all knowledge into ten main classes, represented by numbers.

000 Computer science and book science

In sector 000 on the 3rd floor, you will find books on the following disciplines: computer science, information science, media, library science and general encyclopaedias.

100 Philosophy

Sector 100 on the 3rd floor contains works on philosophy from antiquity to the present day. Here you will find, among other things, metaphysics, logic and ethics. It should be noted that psychology is also included in Dewey class 100. On the other hand, psychiatry, which is related to the field of medicine, is referenced in sector 600.

200 Religion

In sector 200 on the 3rd floor, you will find books on religions, textbooks on the theory and history of religion.

300 Social sciences

On the 3rd floor, social sciences are listed according to the different disciplines such as sociology and anthropology, political science, statistics, economics and law. Pedagogy is also part of this section.

400 Language

Sector 400 is located on the 3rd floor. It contains books and journals on languages and linguistics.

500 Science

On the 3rd floor, the sciences are listed according to different disciplines such as mathematics, astronomy, physics, chemistry, earth sciences, biology and zoology. It should be noted that works on psychiatry, surgery or pathology are to be found in the 600 Technology sector.

600 Technology

Sector 600 on the 3rd floor refers to applied sciences. It includes medicine, engineering, agriculture, management, chemical engineering including metallurgy and biotechnology, construction and also home economics with culinary arts as a sub-category.

700 Arts and recreation

This sector is located on the 2nd floor and contains documentation on painting, music, performing arts, photography, graphic and decorative arts as well as architecture and urban planning. On the ground floor, you will also find documents from the Dewey class 700 Sports and Leisure.

800 Literature

This area is located on the 3rd floor next to section 400 Language. It contains, among others, works of English, French, Luxembourgish and German literature.

900 History and geography

This area is located on the 3rd floor. The geography area is referenced by continents and then by countries, including Luxembourg in category 914.9. In the history sector, you will find genealogy and general biographies, history of the ancient world and history from the Middle Ages to the present day.

Books on the history of Luxembourg can be found in category 949.

Last update

Salle de lecture

Salle de lecture

La salle de lecture est au cœur de la bibliothèque et vous permet d'accéder librement à plus de 200.000 documents touchant tous les domaines du savoir. Vous pouvez choisir et retirer ces documents des étagères, les consulter et les emprunter vous-même.

La salle de lecture n’abrite qu’une partie de l’offre de la Bibliothèque nationale. Les autres documents se trouvent dans les espaces de stockage fermés ou sont accessibles en ligne.

Aperçu des étages

La salle de lecture se déploie sur trois étages et compte des postes de travail avec équipements informatiques, des îlots détente et des fauteuils. Onze carrels, trois cabines audio et une salle de musique s’ajoutent à ce panel. Vous y trouvez également une médiathèque et une salle de consultation spécialisée.

Des guichets d’information et des cabines téléphoniques insonorisées sont à votre disposition en salle de lecture. Le guichet du prêt est localisé à l’entrée. Au troisième étage, vous trouvez des toilettes et une fontaine à eau. Tous les espaces publics sont munis d’ascenseurs, de sanitaires adaptés et de rampes.

Agir de bon ton en salle de lecture

La Bibliothèque nationale est l'endroit idéal pour travailler et étudier tranquillement. Soyons respectueux les uns envers les autres et limitons le bruit que nous faisons.

Comme la Bibliothèque nationale est une bibliothèque d’archives, il importe de protéger ses fonds. Pour cette raison, les sacs et manteaux ainsi que des objets encombrants ne sont pas permis en salle de lecture. Des casiers gratuits sont à votre disposition dans le foyer.

La consommation de nourriture et de boissons (eau incluse) est également interdite en salle de lecture. Vous vous demandez pourquoi ? Un accident est vite arrivé et peut irrémédiablement abimer un document. Comme la majorité des bibliothèques nationales d'autres pays, nous avons décidé d'éviter ce risque une fois pour toute.

Classement thématique

La salle de lecture est arrangée selon la classification décimale DEWEY (CDD), utilisée aujourd’hui par de nombreuses bibliothèques à travers le monde. Elle subdivise l’ensemble des connaissances en dix classes principales, représentées par des chiffres.

000 Informatique et Sciences du livre

Dans le secteur 000 au 3e étage, vous trouvez des ouvrages sur les disciplines suivantes : l’informatique, les sciences de l’information, les médias, la bibliothéconomie ainsi que des encyclopédies générales.

100 Philosophie

Le secteur 100 au 3e étage regroupe les ouvrages de philosophie de l’Antiquité jusqu’à nos jours. Vous y trouvez entre autres la métaphysique, la logique ainsi que l’éthique. Il est à noter que la psychologie fait également partie de la classe Dewey 100. Par contre, la psychiatrie, liée au domaine de la médecine, est référencée dans le secteur 600.

200 Religions

Dans le secteur 200 au 3e étage, vous trouvez des ouvrages sur les religions, des manuels de théorie et d’histoire de la religion.

300 Sciences sociales

Au 3e étage, les sciences sociales sont référencées selon différentes disciplines telles que la sociologie et l’anthropologie, les sciences politiques, les statistiques, les sciences économiques ou encore le droit. La pédagogie fait également partie de cette section.

400 Langues

Le secteur 400 est situé au 3e étage. L'on y trouve des ouvrages et revues de langues et de linguistique.

500 Sciences

Au 3e étage, les sciences sont référencées selon différentes disciplines telles que les mathématiques, l’astronomie, la physique, la chimie, les sciences de la terre ou encore la biologie et la zoologie. Il est à noter que les ouvrages de psychiatrie, de chirurgie ou de pathologie se trouvent dans le secteur 600 Technologies.

600 Technologies

Le secteur 600 au 3e étage se réfère aux sciences appliquées. Il regroupe la médecine, l’ingénierie, l’agriculture, la gestion, le génie chimique dont la métallurgie et les biotechnologies, la construction et aussi l’économie domestique avec, comme sous-catégorie, l’art culinaire.

700 Arts

Ce secteur se situe au 2e étage et rassemble la documentation sur la peinture, la musique, les arts du spectacle, la photographie, les arts graphiques et décoratifs ainsi que l’architecture et l’urbanisme. Au rez-de-chaussée, vous trouvez également des documents de la classe Dewey 700 Sports et Loisirs.

800 Littératures

Ce secteur se trouve au 3e étage à côté des la section 400 Langues. L'on y trouve, entre autres, des ouvrages de littérature anglaise, française, luxembourgeoise, allemande.

900 Histoire et Géographie

Ce secteur se trouve au 3e étage. Le domaine de la géographie est référencé par continents et puis par pays, dont le Luxembourg au niveau 914.9. Dans le secteur de l’histoire, vous trouverez la généalogie et des biographies générales, l’histoire du monde antique et l’histoire du Moyen Âge à nos jours.

Les livres sur l'histoire du Luxembourg se trouvent au niveau 949.

Dernière modification le